To each his own

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.” – Atticus (Harper Lee – To Kill a Mockingbird)

Now in my household, my mother and myself are polar opposites- for example: while I am comfortable sleeping in late, she refuses to let the sun be up before her. While I prefer english songs and movies, she is a die hard Bollywood fan (I am a fan too, but mainly for movies with SRK #KingKhan4life!!!!). While I prefer to read and enjoy my own company, she prefers spending time with relatives that may or may not want the best for her.It seems trivial, but having these basic differences being thrown about everyday results in clashes and most importantly, since I know this is my mother and I love her no matter what, usually results in me succumbing to whatever she wants done. I may be upset and even mumble under my breath, but it gets done, when and how she wants it.

Truth be told, I have to admire that about her, her desire to get everything done early in the morning and have the rest of the day free- but it is not for everyone. Weekends are my sleep in late days because I am up at some ghastly hours during the week in order to make the commute to work and be punctual. So when i want to sleep in late on Saturdays and Sundays, doesn’t mean the stuff will not get done, it simply means that it will be done at a later time, and nothing is wrong with that. Similarly, she was raised in a household where from a very young age she was trained to be up and have everything prepared for a certain time on mornings before she could continue for the rest of her day (something neither she nor my father tried to force me into, which I very much appreciate).

The simple fact of the matter is that no matter who you live with, come in contact with and socialize with are going to always have the same though patterns and want the same things as yourself, and that is perfectly okay. Differences make the world go round and these little differences make us who we are. It is not wrong, just may not be your way of living or what you are accustomed to. So instead of trying to coerce someone into doing things your way, see if you can see it from their perspective and maybe in the process learn something new for yourself.

Leave a Reply

